

Glenda Pruitt, Chairperson Henry County Schools

Rosalyn Gibby, Co-Chairperson Henry County Schools

Gail Gravley, Secretary Cherokee County Schools

Lanetta Mills, Treasurer DeKalb County School System

Mark Lindstrom Marietta City Schools

Rick Grisham, ED. S. Cobb County Schools

Kathy Mewborn, Rockdale County Schools

Charlene Majors, (Retired) Gwinnett County Schools

Luke Spicher, Coweta County Schools

Dennis Stokes National Bus Sales

Cindy Abernathy Forsyth County Schools

Dr. Jeffrey Turner Troup County Schools

Lisa Vaughan Lumpkin County Schools

Mark Weaver Clarke County School District

Sharon Conrad Child Passenger Safety /Consultant

Stephanie Joachim Valdosta, City Schools

Todd Harris Griffin-Spalding County Schools

Tracie Patterson DeKalb County Schools

Annetta Thomas Valdosta, City Schools

Robert Patton Gwinnett County Schools

Debra Fowler Cobb County Schools

# GAPT SPECIAL NEEDS COMMITTEE

GEORGIA ASSOCIATION FOR PUPIL TRANSPORTATION 255 Lemon Street, McDonough Georgia 30253

## gpruitt@henry.k12.ga.us 770-957-2025 ex 254

April 14, 2015

Members Present:

Glenda Pruitt Luke Spicher Cindy Abernathy Kathy Mewborn Lanetta Mills Rosalyn Gibby Bobby Patton Debra Fowler Tracie Patterson Lisa Vaughan Gail Gravley Mark Weaver Jeff Turner Mark Lindstrom

Meeting called to order at 10:14 AM at Henry County Transportation Office by Chairman Glenda Pruitt. Agenda approved and seconded.

#### **Opening Discussion:**

Road-e-o team list and judge/volunteer list updated. Total of 20 teams now registered. Mark Lindstrom was asked to update the GAPT SPED website with current info. Jeff Turner asked Mark about the regular GAPT website and some possible confusion with the SPED website. Mark will check and make corrections.

#### State SPED Road-e-o Discussion:

Friday April 24<sup>th</sup> was the date decided for available committee members to meet at Henry County Transportation office at 8 AM to go to Tifton on a bus and meet there at 11 AM with Danny. Need to go over marking where the events are to be set up.

We discussed Road-e-o assignments for the Committee Members. All Committee Members will be Lead Judges for the events.

Gail was asked to call Dale Roberts, Cherokee County past Committee Member, to see if he was able to help with set up. He is unable to help that weekend.

Glenda is reserving rooms at the Econolodge Motel in Tifton, Exit 63 for Committee Members who are arriving on Friday, May 1.

### **Miscellaneous Info:**

Cobb will bring 3 like WC to Road-e-o to be used. Lumpkin will supply R/R equipment for the event. Dennis is going to be asked to bring the rope to lay out the events on the pavement. Rosalyn will bring the dolls to be used as evacuation students. Ben Hill County will supply 3 IC buses. Each Lead Judge will make name tags for their helpers, and bring clip boards, pencils and at least 25 score sheets for their event. Glenda will bring dryer sheets to give out to help keep knats away. Nationals are giving their contestants their score sheets, so we will as well. They will be sent to the counties that participate a week or two after the event so they can give them back to the participating contestants. They have asked for them in the past, this will help them learn from their mistakes and know what they missed.

Meeting adjourned at 12:05 PM.

## **Upcoming Scheduled Events and Meetings:**

**Friday, April 24, 2015** – Committee members that are available will meet at Henry County Transportation Office at 8 AM to go to Tifton to mark off events at Rush Trucking. Meeting at Rush with Danny at 11 AM.

**Tuesday April 28, 2015. TBD** Glenda is going to work with Dennis on a possible phone conference meeting with committee members that week before Road-e-o.

**Friday, May 1, 2015** – Committee will meet at the Econolodge, Exit 63, in Tifton at 3 PM. Then go over to Rush Trucking to mark off events and set up for the next day.

Gail Gravley S/N Secretary